LG 29UM58 Ultrawide Monitor: A Review

So you’re looking for a large monitor, but you’re also on a budget. (I’m always on a budget). Then chances are that you’ll want to take a look at the LG 29UM58, a last-gen model which is currently the most affordable 29-inch monitor on the market right now. For as low as $186, you can take home a screen that looks like it costs hundreds more. But does the monitor’s performance stack up? Let’s find out below.

Image result for lg 29um58

Display

Any monitor’s selling point is its display, and in this department, the 29UM58 has both its ups and downs. The size of the panel is luxurious, measuring at approximately 27 inches wide and 12 inches tall. For users with limited desk space, this screen is the perfect compromise between the much larger 34-inch ultrawide panels and the far-too-cramped 25-inch LG ultrawide monitor, whose screen measures only 10 inches in height.

Bezels on this screen are thin, but not as thin as LG’s photographs would have you believe. When powered on, the displayed is surrounded by a 3/8 inch black border. Like many other ultrawides, the 29UM58 supports LG’s screen-split software, whose drivers can be downloaded from LG website. Screen-split allows the user to choose between 2, 3, and even 4-page viewing. The software automatically aligns the pages on the screen for you, so you don’t have to drag and resize them manually. I’ve found the 2 and 3-screen split to be the most convenient to use.

The panel resolution is 2560 by 1080p, which isn’t anything groundbreaking but will certainly suffice for most people’s needs. Text and web pages look sharp. On full screen mode, however, the monitor will distort any photos that are not meant for the 21:9 aspect ratio (i.e. 16:9 photos). This means that any 16:9 wallpapers will look blurry; however, I solved this problem by Googling “21:9 wallpapers” and downloading them onto my desktop. Now, my photos are quite detailed, and I’m satisfied with them. For photo editors or anyone who appreciates intricate, refined displays, I would suggest looking at 1440p resolutions instead.

Controls

The monitor features a joystick that is very easy to use. Pushing the joystick down turns the monitor off. Sliding it to the right brings users to the menu, where they can adjust brightness, volume, and contrast. A right nudge allows users to choose between the two HDMI port inputs, and an upwards flick brings users to a list of different display modes: reader, cinema, photo, etc.

Performance

As a productivity user, I’ve encountered no issues with the monitor. While its screen does require a few seconds to turn on after I boot my PC, I don’t mind. For gaming purposes, however, I wouldn’t recommend this monitor. A combination of a 60 Hz refresh rate, relatively low resolution, and lack of Freesync or G-sync spells “non-gaming” for any monitor. And while advertised as a 75 Hz monitor, I was not able to push this monitor past 60 Hz in my settings.

Ports

I wish this monitor had a USB port. It doesn’t. Fortunately, however, it does feature two HDMI connections, a power supply input, and an audio-out port. The audio-out is especially useful, since the monitor does not have speakers. I hooked up my speakers to this monitor and they work perfectly.

Build Quality

The monitor is encased entirely in plastic, with a glossy black piano finish on all sides. While I don’t particularly care for the build quality of a product that I’ll never need to touch, the monitor feels sturdy enough. One thing to note: when I insert cables through the ports in the back of the monitor, I can feel the plastic casing bend inward slightly. And finally, if you don’t like the appearance of the stand, this monitor is VESA mountable through 75 by 75 mm holes. I attached my monitor to a mounting arm, on which the screen is indistinguishable from the newer 29UM68 screen.

Overall

LG has added speakers, Freesync, and a more attractive stand to the 29UM58’s successor, the 29UM68. However, if you don’t care about those things, then the 29UM58 is an attractive option for any budget productivity user. After all, it’s a monitor. It works.

Where to Buy

Amazon frequently has discounts on this monitor, which currently sells for $186 (https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B01B67KAQ4/ref=dp_olp_all_mbc?ie=UTF8&condition=all). Sellers on this monitor come and go, so if you don’t see this monitor for under $200 new right away, I would simply wait a week or two. Best Buy also carries this monitor for $249, but it has gone on sale in the past.

Leave a like if you found this review helpful!

 

2 thoughts on “LG 29UM58 Ultrawide Monitor: A Review

Leave a comment